The Commonwealth: Shigare

Arms of the Commonwealth Sable's trading partners


The Commonwealth

The Commonwealth is the trading bloc based in the three Shadow Veils immediately around the Magica Superior. The Shadows are linked by a network of Royal Ways. Most of the connections from from with the Kingdom of Sable, especially at Riversend, rather than the Reich which is not particularly popular in the Commonwealth Shadows.

To be a full member of the Commonwealth is the equivalent of having both most favoured nation trading status, and also having a mutual defence pact with the forces at the Kingdom of Sable's disposal. Sable normally reserves the right to have military bases within Commonwealth nations, although military personnel are not allowed to interfere in the day to day running of the Commonwealth Shadow concerned.

In addition, there are four Shadows that are actually military-based, and are responsible for the defence of those Commonwealth Shadows around them - for which they get the same favoured trading status as more regular Commonwealth Shadows, but without the need to trade goods into the other Commonwealth states. These are classed as Defensive Members, and give their names to the Quadrants into which the Commonwealth is roughly split - Cadel, Shigare, Lowell and Caulder. Each is ruled by an experienced military officer of Ducal rank. On these worlds, there is a compulsory period of National Service, which has to be undertaken somewhere between 18 and 25.

Map of the Commonwealth

Click to go to the Lowell Quadrant The Kingdom of Sable Click here to go to the Caulder Quadrant Map of the Commonwealth

Unless otherwise stated, first ring tech levels are around 1870, second ring are around 1910 and third ring are around 1940. Full Commonwealth members have Governor Generals - usually as advisors to the incumbent government, although in a few close in Shadows the Governor Generals are actually de facto rulers of the Shadows.

Non-Commonwealth Shadows usually have a Sable Consulate, and maintain full diplomatic relations with Sable and the Commonwealth Shadows, being in such close proximity to the Kingdom (as long as your geometry is non-Euclidean). They are detailed in these pages alongside their Commonwealth counterparts.

All worlds within the three Commonwealth Veils share the standard 365 day/12 month/52 week/7 day calendar of Sable itself, and the date therefore remains consistent across the whole Commonwealth bloc, which adds to the ease of trade in the region.